Est. 1993

Leapfrog Press

2021 Inaugural Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize YA |MG Longlist

The inaugural Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize
for Young Adult | Middle Grade authors, 2021

Final judging to be undertaken by Carnegie Medal Award-Winning Author, Anthony McGowan of Lark

We thank everyone who entrusted us with their submission to the Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize contest in the first-ever Young Adult/Middle Grade category.

With so many wonderful manuscripts this year, deliberating was no easy task. However, we are happy to announce the following longlist, with no author names attached (as blind judging is ongoing):

The Doll Thief

Horse Latitudes

The Rat Catcher

Back Pilgrims on the Prairie: The Story of Nicodemus, Kansas

Families Like Ours

Our River Boat School

Lost River, 1918


The Time Tamers

Our goal is to announce the winner by early autumn, along with finalists, semi-finalists, and honorable mentions. The First Prize package includes a publication contract offer from Leapfrog Press (U.S.) and Can of Worms Press (U.K.) with an advance payment against royalties, a critique from guest judge Anthony McGowan, permanent listing on the website of each press, and $150; finalists will receive the critique, permanent website listings, and $150; semi-finalists will get their choice of a Leapfrog or Can of Worms book and permanent website listings; honorable mentions will receive permanent website listings.