Est. 1993

Leapfrog Press

2023 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize Adult category longlist

The Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize for Adult category authors, 2023

We thank everyone who entrusted us with their submission to the Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize contest for the 2023 Adult category.

With so many wonderful manuscripts this year, deliberating was no easy task.

However, we are happy to announce the following longlist, with no author names attached (as blind judging is ongoing):

Every Whistle Paints a Picture 

But They Filmed the Movie Somewhere Else: a novel

Shaving in the Dark

At Times of Loss and Other Cuban Stories

Istanbul Crossing

The Mexican Messiah: A Novella and Stories

I Think I’ll Stay Here Forever


Our goal is to announce the shortlist in early August and the winner by early fall, along with finalists, semi-finalists, and honorable mentions. The First Prize package includes a publication contract offer from Leapfrog Press (U.S.) and Can of Worms Press (U.K.) with an advance payment against royalties, a critique from our guest judge (to be announced), listing on the website of each press, and $150; finalists will receive the critique, website listing, and $150; semi-finalists will get their choice of a Leapfrog or Can of Worms book and website listings; honorable mentions will receive website listings.