Est. 1993

Leapfrog Press

2021 YA | MG Shortlist Announcement

The inaugural Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize
for Young Adult | Middle Grade authors, 2021


Final judging is now being undertaken by Carnegie Medal Award-Winning Author, Anthony McGowan of Lark.

We thank everyone who entrusted us with their submission to the Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize contest in the first-ever Young Adult/Middle Grade category.

With so many wonderful manuscripts this year, deliberating was no easy task. However, we are happy to announce the following shortlist, updated now to include authors’ names:



Black Pilgrims on the Prairie: The Story of Nicodemus, Kansas by Peggy Landon

Horse Latitudes by Faith Shearin

Lost River, 1918 by Faith Shearin


The Doll Thief by Elizabeth Donnelly

The Time Tamers by Douglas Heil

Honorable Mentions

Feather by Edna Wells

Families Like Ours by Anika Miller

Our River Boat School by Mary La Chapelle

The Rat Catcher by Mary Alderete

The First Prize package includes a publication contract offer from Leapfrog Press (U.S.) and Can of Worms Press (U.K.) with an advance payment against royalties, a critique from guest judge Anthony McGowan, permanent listing on the website of each press, and $150; finalists will receive the critique, permanent website listings, and $150; semi-finalists will get their choice of a Leapfrog or Can of Worms book and permanent website listings; honorable mentions will receive permanent website listings.