Est. 1993

Leapfrog Press

2021 Adult Longlist Announcement


The Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize
for Adult Fiction authors, 2021

Final judging to be undertaken by New York Times bestselling author, Ann Hood.


We thank everyone who entrusted us with their submission to the Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize contest.

With so many wonderful manuscripts this year, deliberating was no easy task. However, we are happy to announce the following longlist, with no author names attached (as blind judging is ongoing):


Eight Maids

The Gospel of Rot


Wound Side Down

Hairy Govinda: Stories

You Have Reached Your Destination

Tentacles Numbing


Minato Sketches

Underlake and Other Stories

Launch Me to the Stars, I’m Finished Here

What We Were Looking For

Hold Me While I Scream


Possibility Hunger

But First You Need a Plan

The Havana Standard

Mildred and Boris

Newman’s Choice

The Oud Player of Old Cairo

Smaller Lives

Mazes and Other Puzzles

Autobiography of Migration

Flyover Girls

Lonely Beasts

Under Pressure and Other Stories

Girl Country: Stories

Our goal is to announce the winner by early autumn, along with finalists, semi-finalists, and honorable mentions. The First Prize package includes a publication contract offer from Leapfrog Press (U.S.) and Can of Worms Press (U.K.) with an advance payment against royalties, a critique from guest judge Ann Hood, permanent listing on the website of each press, and $150; finalists will receive the critique, permanent website listings, and $150; semi-finalists will get their choice of a Leapfrog or Can of Worms book and permanent website listings; honorable mentions will receive permanent website listings.