Fiction Contest


Fiction Contest

Past Winners: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009

We are excited to present the longlist of awardees for the 2019 Leapfrog Fiction Contest.

The finalist manuscripts are being critiqued by this year’s finalist judge, Ramona Ausubel

Entries to this year’s contest came from numerous countries, and included adult and young adult novels, novellas, and story collections.

We would like to thank every author who submitted to our 11th annual fiction contest. As always, it was our privilege and pleasure reading so many excellent manuscripts.

The 2020 Leapfrog Fiction Contest will open on January 15.

The 2019 Leapfrog Fiction Contest

The Fear of Large and Small Nations, a novel by Nancy Agabian (New York)

Functional Families, stories by Taylor García (California)

Journey to the Welcoming City, middle grade novel by Gloria Whelan (Michigan)

Daughters of Eve, stories by Margaret Hermes (Missouri)

The Charleston Stories, story collection by Kent Nelson (Colorado)

Macho in Canyon Country, a novel by Chad Fore (Arizona)

Senior Skip Day, stories by Phong Nguyen (Missouri)

Storm Windows, stories by Charles Haverty (Massachusetts)

Love Will Set You Free and other fables, stories by Brenda Liebling-Goldberg (Texas)

Too Much, stories by Israela Margolit (New York)

The Vampire in Winter, stories by Tom Whelan (Louisiana)

May You Be the Mother of a Thousand Snake Sons, a novella by Meena Nayak (Virginia)

Hostages, Seven Stories, a story collection by Michael Pearce (California)

Amphibians, stories by Lara Tupper (Massachusetts)

Scenic Overlook, stories by Anne Ray (New York)

Star Brother, a young adult novel by Maxine Schur (California)

Son of Nothingness, a novel by Ona Russell



© Leapfrog Press 2019 | All rights reserved